[Food] Coffee Culture

Coffee is undeniable one of the most popular drinks in the world. I love coffee too! When i was young, i always asked my mom for a sip of her iced coffee. I actually started drinking coffee every morning about 5 years ago when i was a master student in Berlin, Germany. I just like the smell of it because caffeine has so little effects on me. I can sleep right after a cup of espresso, no problem! I have to be careful as it can still disturb my sleeping cycle when i’m stress. Anyway, what i like more about coffee is a coffee shop or cafe. I like to hang out at a coffee shop doing my work, reading or drawing. It is a nice change of pace from sitting at home in a small room. My obsession with coffee shop goes beyond sitting and drinking, i’m also searching for new places and check them out. There are so many coffee shops in Bangkok as coffee drinking becomes culture. After moved to Denver, i found quite a few nice one within walking distance (as my husband and i don’t have a car). So far, the place i like the most is “The Desk” (http://www.thedeskdenver.com/). This cafe is a modern style cafe, very bright and clean with good coffee. I ordered a cup of caffè latte and it was the best latte i had in Denver! The place also offers working spaces for rent. The rental service is a bit pricy but i guess it’s great for a freelancer who need office atmosphere sometime.

Caffe Latte artwork

Photos: The Desk, Denver, CO, USA in June 2013

Coffee can be brewed with so many methods and turned into many types of drinks. I used to own “Tchibo’s Cafissimo”, an automatic coffee machine using capsules. It was cheap and easy but i had to sell it before i left Germany for good after graduated. Apart from the machine, i made my coffee with dripper, french press and moka pot. Now, i’m addicted to “Starbucks VIA Ready Brew”. In my opinion, it is the best instant coffee available in the market! 🙂

My top 5 favourite coffee-based beverages

1. Café con leche

“Café con leche” is literally “coffee with milk” in Spanish but it’s simply the best! I make it at home every morning using Starbucks VIA and 2% fat milk. The key is the milk has to be as warm as the coffee. You won’t find this on the menu but it can be substituted by caffè latte!

Cafe con Leche

Photo: Local cafe, Malaga, Spain in May 2010

2. Espresso Macchiato

This is my first choice of afternoon coffee. I always try to stick with a cup of coffee in the morning. If i need an energy boost in the afternoon, i often go with a shot of espresso or Espresso Macchiato (means “marked”), a shot of espresso with a hint of milk. Just love it! 🙂

Espresso Macchiato

Photo: German restaurant, Berlin, Germany in June 2012

3. Caffè mocha

Caffè mocha is a variety of caffè latte which is a shot of espresso with steamed milk and added chocolate. I always drink a cup of coffee without sugar but occasionally i will add a little sweetness to my coffee with a cup of caffè mocha instead. Give me no sugar, baby! 😛

Caffe Mocha

Photo: Ristr8to Coffee, Chiang Mai, Thailand in February 2014

4. Affogato al caffè

“Affogato al caffè” means “drowned in coffee” in Italian. It usually takes a form of a scoop of vanilla ice cream and a shot of espresso. I think it’s more like a dessert than a coffee beverage but it’s perfect energy source for a warm day! I love when it melted and blended! 😀

Affogato

Photo: The Coffee Club, Bangkok, Thailand in August 2012

5. Eiskaffee

In German, “Eis” means “Ice cream”, not “ice”. Eiskaffee is not an iced coffee but ice cream with coffee! It’s a bit different from Affogato because it usually takes a form of two scoops of ice cream (of choice) and cold brewed coffee, then topped with whipped cream! Yum!

Eiskaffee

Photo: Arabica Bar, Berlin, Germany in August 2009

If you are interested to learn more about coffee, i highly recommended this book. Prior to this book, i’ve read several book about coffee but i think this one is the most detailed ever! I learnt a lot about the journey of coffee from a tree in Guatemala to a cup in Starbucks near me.

Uncommon Grounds

Uncommon Grounds: The History of Coffee and How It Transformed Our World

Author: Mark Pendergrast

Paperback: 480 pages

Publisher: Basic Books, Revised Edition (2010)

Language: English

Source: Book cover is from goodreads.com (I don’t have physical copy of this book.)

2 thoughts on “[Food] Coffee Culture

  1. Pingback: [Food] Starbucks Coffee & Me | Pannita

  2. Pingback: [Book] The World Atlas of Coffee: From Beans to Brewing – Coffees Explored, Explained and Enjoyed | Pannita

Leave a Reply

