[Lifestyle] Me, My Cameras & Photography

I don’t really remember when did i start my passion toward photography and cameras but it must be a long time ago (indicated that i’m old)! I still remembered my pink plastic toy camera my dad gave me when i was a little girl. While my dad and my brothers were in to video camera or camcorder, i preferred still images from a camera. I really like a film one but my first real camera was a digital one! I had my eyes on SLR camera from Nikon but my forward looking dad bought me a small digital camera from Minolta instead. In 2003, i was selected to be one of exchange students to Japan. It was only for 1 month but it was a good time to test my first camera, the Minolta Dimage Xi. I took several hundreds photos during the trip, i suppose that was when i fall in love with photography. Over the last 10 years, i switched many cameras including DSLRs and compact cameras.

My Cameras

  • Minolta Dimage Xi (Gold)
  • Canon EOS 300D (Silver)
  • Nikon Coolpix E5200 (Silver)
  • Sony Cyber-shot T10 (Black)
  • Panasonic Lumix FX36 (Silver)
  • Canon EOS 450D (Black)
  • Leica D-Lux 4 (Black)
  • Canon Powershot S90 (Black)
  • FujiFilm FinePix X100 (Black/Silver)

EOS 450D Fuji X100

When travelling alone, i usually carry two cameras. I loved landscape and architecture photography. So, i had to bring my compact camera for self-portrait and my DSLR with wide angle lens for everything else. I also have instant cameras, my dad’s old Polaroid SX-70 (sadly, it broke) and FujiFilm Instax Mini 25. After came back from Germany in 2011, i decided to give up DSLR and sold the whole set including the camera, 3 lens and a tripod. Fuji X100 is now the only one that i’m currently using. I still uses the same method by carrying around two cameras, the semi-pro digital camera and iPhone. Recently, my interest moved from landscape to street photography. “Street Photography” is a genre of photography that features subjects in candid situations within public places. In March 2012, i had a chance to participate in a 3-days Street Photography Workshop Bangkok by Invisible Photographer Asia or IPA (http://invisiblephotographer.asia/). My instructor is none other than Kevin KY Lee (http://www.kevinwylee.com/), the founder of IPA.

Kevin Sidewalk

The workshop was fun! I learnt a lot and also had a chance to meet other street photographers from Thailand and abroad. Here are some of my best photos from the workshop, which were featuring in “Sidewalk: Street Photography Exhibition” at IPA Gallery in Singapore.

Siam DSCF1349

After using the Fuji X100 for some years, i have to admit that i miss the DSLR camera but i will stick to my X100 for the time being. Furthermore, cameras in smartphones are pretty good. I’ve been using instagram (http://instagram.com/korpannita) on my iPhone since October 2010 and took over 3,000 photos with it! 🙂

One thought on “[Lifestyle] Me, My Cameras & Photography

  1. Pingback: [Tech] Instant Cameras Never Die! | Pannita

Leave a Reply

