[Movie] My Top 10 Favourite Movies of All Time

Watching movie is like escape from the real world for an hour or so. When i was in collage, i watched at least one movie in the theater. My university is located downtown with many cinemas around. 🙂 I had no problem access to new movies on their opening week. The other reason i love movies so much is my dad. He used to own a video rental shop and he has a lot of movies in hand. He love them and he showed them to me and my brothers. So, i was exposed to a lot of movies during my childhood. Although my dad is a big fan of western and space movies, i prefer fantasy and adventure kinds and here is the list of my favourite movies of all time (by chronological order)!

1. The Wizard of Oz (1939)

The Wizard of Oz

I like the adventure of Dorothy and Toto, as well as the Scarecrow, the Tin Man and the Cowardly Lion. The most impressive character in the movie is still be the Wicked Witch of the West in my opinion. Furthermore, i always wondering if Dorothy and White Witch are the bad guys here because they stole the red shoes from the witch right? Think about it.

2. Roman Holiday (1953)

Roman Holiday

I watched it in original black & white, with my dad of course. I love how Audrey Hepburn played Princess Ann. She was so cute and funny, especially when she decided to cut her hair short. Gregory Peck was also very handsome. This movie is the reason i want to go to Rome so much but i never have a chance. Can’t wait for the next trip to Europe!

3. Star Wars, the Original Trilogy (1977, 1980, 1983)

MV5BMTU4NTczODkwM15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMzEyMTIyMw@@._V1_SX214_ MV5BMjE2MzQwMTgxN15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMDQzNjk2OQ@@._V1_SY317_CR0,0,214,317_ MV5BMjE5MTM3ODU5MV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwOTYzNjk2OQ@@._V1_SY317_CR0,0,214,317_

I insist that i like the original trilogy but not the prequel trilogy. The first appearance of Darth Vader is so great in Episode IV: A New Hope. He didn’t said a word but really shows that he is a bad ass! He will always be my favourite bad guy of all time. I also like the Emperor Palpi and the Stormtroopers. The film i like the most is the Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back.

4. Clash of the Titans (1981)

MV5BMTY5Njg4NDAwNl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMjcyMjA0Mg@@._V1_SX214_

This one is my favourite movie growing up. The movie i feel like i can watch it over and over again, never get bored. It contains everything i like Pegasus, Monsters, etc. It also inspired me to learn more about Greece Mythology. When i heard about the remade version of this film, i was so excited but after watched it, i’m actually disappointed. 😦

5. The Last Unicorn (1982)

MV5BMTYxOTY1NDM5MV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMTU4Mzc0NA@@._V1_SY317_CR19,0,214,317_

I always love strange and fantasy creatures like unicorn, pegasus, mermaids and more. I also love horses, so Unicorn is at the top of my list. This animated film is about the last unicorn who has to fight with the evil Red Bull to bring her own kind back. It is a very beautiful story which based on a novel with the same name by Peter S. Beagle. I’m now reading it!

6. The Princess Bride (1987)

MV5BMjM0Nzk5NTc4OV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMDA2MzgxNA@@._V1_SX214_

I was wondering why i haven’t watch this movie when i was a kid. I just had a change to see it recently and fell in love with it! I like how funny the story is as well as the characters, especially Inigo Montoya. His trademark line, “Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die.” is so cool, although he almost lost in the fight with Count Rugen, his arch enemy.

7. The Silence of the Lambs (1991)

MV5BMTQ2NzkzMDI4OF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMDA0NzE1NA@@._V1_SX214_

I remembered watching this film with my brothers. I was scared at first but when i watched it again, i found one character is really appealing. Dr. Hannibal Lecter is something! Anthony Hopkins played him so well as if he is Hannibal himself. I’ve become a huge fan of the series ever since with one exception, the latest movie “Hannibal Rising” (2007). He is not my Hannibal!

8. Chocolat (2000)

MV5BMjA4MDI3NTQwMV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNjIzNDcyMQ@@._V1_SY317_CR1,0,214,317_

A single mom, Vianne Rocher, and her daughter moved into a small town in France and open a chocolate shop right before the forty days of Lent. It is so lovely to see how conservative villagers have changed over time because of the chocolaterie. It has great OSTs. Judi Dench was so great in this one. Played a river gypsy, Johnny Depp seems like himself in this movie too!

9. Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl (2003)

MV5BMjAyNDM4MTc2N15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTYwNDk0Mjc3._V1_SY317_CR0,0,214,317_

People always say that the first movie in the series is the best. In my opinion, it’s true for the Pirates of the Caribbean. I found that the Curse of the Black Pearl is just right and fun. It is based on a ride with the same name which is my favourite attraction at Disneyland Theme Park in California. Johnny Depp (again) is so funny as “Captain” Jack Sparrow. 😀

10. The Fall (2006)

MV5BMjAzODUwMjM1M15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNjU2MjU2MQ@@._V1_SX214_

It is about an injured and possibly paralysed  stuntman who tell a fantasy story to a little girl with a broken arm in order to trick her to get pills to kill himself. The story he told is about 5 heros on their journey to seek revenges from an evil ruler Governor. It was beautifully shot and the costumes were so great. It is directed by Tarsem Singh, the same person who made “The Cell” (2000).

Source: All movie posters are from IMDb.com

I’ve just realised that there is no movie newer than 2006 on this list. I guess i’m getting old… haha! Anyway, here is my Wicked Witch of the West fanart from Halloween last year.

Wicked Witch of the West

One thought on “[Movie] My Top 10 Favourite Movies of All Time

  1. Pingback: [Book] The Film Book | Pannita

Leave a Reply

